It is important to understand the implications of a DWI conviction and the importance of hiring a knowledgeable and experienced attorney to represent your rights.

car keys DWI lawyerThe Texas Legislature decided a few years ago to allow the Texas Department of Public Safety to assess surcharges to an individual based on certain traffic offenses, and Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is one of them.  These surcharges are in addition to other fees and are considered an “administrative fee” charged to a driver based on the number of points or convictions on the driver record.

How will you know if you receive a surcharge for an offense?

You will receive a notice through the mail.  If you have a conviction for DWI, you will be notified once the conviction has been reported to DPS.  These surcharges aren’t cheap.  You will pay a minimum of $1000 per year for 3 years from the date of each conviction for DWI, Intoxication assault, or manslaughter. If it is a subsequent DWI conviction, the surcharge is $1500.  If you are convicted of DWI with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.15 or greater, the fine is $2000.

A conviction for DWI causes hardships beyond the arrest and having to hire a criminal lawyer.  If you have been arrested for DWI or DUI, it is imperative that you hire a qualified and experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. My practice is largely made up of DWI cases and I have over 15 years defending those accused of DWI.  I handle more DWI cases than any other type of criminal case. Call me, Fort Worth Criminal lawyer Stephen Handy, as soon as possible to discuss your case.

Want to check your Texas Drivers License Eligibility and Reinstatement Fees?

Go to the DPS site and login with your personal information.

Also note:
DPS reviews surcharge cases annually. A surcharge will be assessed if an individual’s driver record:

  1. Continues to reflect six or more points, or
  2. If the underlying conviction for the surcharge is still within three years.

The amount of a surcharge can vary with each annual assessment if convictions are added or removed from the driver record.